Quick singles and short pitches

IMG_0400The England cricket team is about to enter a period of intense activity. Series against the West Indies, Australia, South Africa and Pakistan will take place over the next 12 months. Seventeen Tests, twenty-one ODIs and occasional T20s. It is very possible that the team forged from the exhaustion, injury and vacillation in form resulting from this demanding itinerary, along with regime change of some degree of other, will be very different to that which plays in the West Indies in April 2015.

It might be an interesting game to predict the eleven that England field in the first home Test of the 2016 summer. Submissions welcome. But this post is to introduce another busy schedule, nowhere near as elevated or long-lasting as England’s, and how it will be coped with. Between mid April and late July my involvement at Sale Cricket Club will comprise a weekly cycle of: planning and helping deliver our Monday evening junior training for around 100 boys and girls, managing no.2 son’s under 9 matches, assisting at no.1 son’s under 16 matches, as well as any hard-ball games to which no.2 son is hoping to get a call-up. There are also the sundry duties of a (joint) club junior organiser that arise. I would like to play some games myself, but that may have to wait until the junior season ends.

Time for preparing blog posts, particularly those needing research, will be limited. It’s not burn-out that I risk, but neglect of the blog and the frustration that will bring; Declaration Game continues to give me a great deal of satisfaction. So I have decided to try a different approach to blogging.

To say I think about cricket every day would be an understatement. I also (to borrow an admission from David Mutton) think about cricket writing every day – by which I mean, my own writing. My aim is to write a paragraph or two, if not every day, then most days, capturing whatever is freshly turned in my head.

Short pitches will be posts about anything related to the club and junior cricket that I am involved in – under 9s play on 18 yard long (short) pitches, after all. Quick singles will be pieces about the professional game. There may have to be some ‘short singles’ or ‘quick pitches’ where the two spheres conjoin.

I hope this formula works for you.

To UK readers, I wish you a first class summer on the field, in the stands and at home. To those of you who are entering your close season, may it be swift and re-energising.

Tags: , , ,

About chrisps

TouchlineDad to three sporty kids; cricket blogger and coach; and the alpha male in our pride.

6 responses to “Quick singles and short pitches”

  1. liamcromar says :

    What about short runs, Chris? Deliberate short runs, of course, would attract the possibility of penalty runs being awarded. What would those posts look like?

    Look forward to reading whatever you come up with, as usual.

  2. Brian Carpenter says :

    Good idea, Chris.

    I don’t know about you but I have trouble finding time to read blogposts, let alone write them. I like the look of your 105 overs (ha!) and WW1 posts but haven’t read them properly. Will do so soon and probably comment.

    Thanks for your comment on my Benaud piece. His death truly marked the end of an era which I think you have to be of a certain age to appreciate.

    • chrisps says :

      Thanks Brian. We’ll see how it goes. I’m really just trying to turn more of those minutes spent thinking about the game into words on the screen.

  3. David Mutton says :

    Good idea. And thanks for the unexpected mention đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

